Some days it’s not so damn cool to be a outlaw artist.

Out-Law
1: a person excluded from the benefit or protection of the law
2 a : a lawless person or a fugitive from the law b : a person or organization under a ban or restriction c : one that is unconventional or rebellious
3 : an animal (as a horse) that is wild and unmanageable

Art-ist “one skilled or versed in learned arts”

People think it has to be cool or all kinds of awesome to be a outlaw artist,but at times it’s not.Some of my work is considered offensive even by subculture people.I never seem to do what is popular at the moment.I don’t do kitschy spooky for spooky’s sake.And it makes me feel like such a outcast sometimes.The people who make mindless kitsch can show anywhere and sell like crazy.But I can’t just show anywhere.I cringe about even submitting art to things that don’t specialize in my type of work.I’d like to be treated as more of a fine artist like the people who make kitschy crap get treated like.I’m already EXTREMELY self conscious about my work and if it’s any good or not.Even after being in business as a artist for over 10 years.I still feel like my work isn’t any good.And having people be so uncomfortable about my work,or not having it fit in anywhere make that feeling 100 times worse some days.I had always assumed when I started making dolls that after a year or two of establishing myself as a artist and selling things that would go away,but it is just as bad if not worse some days. I hate being mainly resigned to only being comfortable about submitting my work to say places and things that deal in horror art.Because again my work MEANS something,I don’t like having to just lump my work into plastic baby dolls that somebody zombiefied to make a cool horror prop when say the thing I submitting is a commentary on abortion.Very few fine art mags,blogs or places will give me a break because my art is too “offensive” or they don’t like what I’m about as a person.They will dig around and see words like Satanism or Voodoo and BAM the door will be shut in my face.Same goes for the art doll world.I could slip SOME of my work under the radar but they won’t have me in anything because they don’t like what I’m about as a person.Or they will dig through every fucking thing you have online and because I’m open and honest about things or don’t behave properly those avenues are cut off.I don’t fit in at all with the Pop Surrealism crowd because again it’s more about a popularity contest and also being kitschy.It makes me feel the same way I did when I was 15 in a tiny town being the only one with blue hair.And I’m in no way going to “dumb down” my art,it’s not even my art it comes from somewhere else.So I’m not about to screw with that and get punished because I want a easier time.Granted I busted my ASS and foraged my own way without the help of any of the art “scene’s” but it’s exhausting having to forage your own way all the fucking time even in 2011!

~ by uglyshyla on April 20, 2011.

One Response to “Some days it’s not so damn cool to be a outlaw artist.”

  1. I’m only 1 person but I like your works and looks because of it’s originality, and I certainly know what it’s like to be one of the worlds outcasts or outlaws.

Leave a Reply

 
