Importance of Artist supporting one another and how to get more business.

My friend http://www.femaledictions.com/ and I were discussing about how some people don’t realize how for some of us art or crafting is our FULL TIME JOB.And how important it is for all of us who do work at it as a full time job *or even though who use it as extra income to support each other*.
It really pisses me off when fellow DIYers and Artist do not support each other.If anything you should do it for selfish reasons because if you promote somebody else’s work they will normally be happy to do it in return without even thinking about it.At least they SHOULD if they have any manners!
Even if you aren’t a artist if you have a fave artist,crafter or etsy seller show a little good karma and plug their work.You never know they person could be like me and it could be their full time job and the money you help them make could bring their pet to the vet or buy their kid some food.
Same goes for the arts of modeling or music ect.If you like that person even if you can’t hire them,buy a print or a cd at LEAST support them by word of mouth.And y’all have no idea how much we all appreciate it.
One of the best pieces of advice I can give to a budding artist is to network with your fellow artist and crafters!
Also don’t be greedy with your work.If you have some extra time and some extra things and know some high profile people in your scene that would plug you work.Give them things,and ask them if they are happy with it to give your link a little shout out.
It’s not a act of congress to just post a link to somebody’s website or shop,and it’s also free so there is no reason you should NOT be doing it.Especially if you are a artist.I also run contest around the holidays.It brings me traffic to my work AND make somebody happy to win something free.
I have no doubt in my mind that if I wouldn’t have had fellow artist like http://azacclothingcouture.com/,http://clintcatalyst.com and Szandora Lavey wouldn’t have pimped my work and supported me I wouldn’t be where I am today.And I’m very grateful to them,and I always said if I was in a position to be able to direct others to other artist I’d damn well do so.
Ugly Shyla
Ugly Art Dolls
Add me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Ugly Art Dolls Myspace
My Execution Style Clothing Design Etsy Shop
Uglyshyla.com

~ by uglyshyla on October 7, 2010.

3 Responses to “Importance of Artist supporting one another and how to get more business.”

  1. I’ve had you linked on my website for ages 🙂

  2. Shyla, you offered to cross-post links with anyone following your Twitter updates. I posted a link to you on my site then sent you a message to let you know and soon after you stuck to your word and honored me with a link on this site. Other than artists (at least the ones I appreciate), I don’t see much evidence of many other groups of people that will take time to work on their own output, and spend almost as much time supporting each other in whatever way possible. I love this post.

  3. Yes yes.

Leave a Reply

 
