Lack of curvy women in the media.

I posted this in response to this post http://www.curvygirlguide.com/self-body/victorias-secret-does-not-love-my-body/

Another person said:“I think the problem lies in the fact that this small population of women serve as role models for an entire population of young girls, and the effects of media on self esteem and bodies issues is staggering.
That is the change I want to see in the world. To not have THAT issue anymore.”

Ugly Shyla: I totally agree,I also think there is a difference between naturally svelte women and girls who have to eat nothing but a shake for a month and drink a damn gallon of water everyday.I’m a curvy person I have been curvy even when I was fairly thin it’s just the way my body is made.Just like some women are prone to being svelte.it’s genetics. But I have to admit that it is a little bit annoying that the ONLY person I see that has a body like mine is Christina Hendricks.Curvy girls tend to speak up about things like the love my body thing about VS because WE don’t have any people like us represented in the media but skinny girls do.Us saying something about that isn’t implying that thin girls aren’t “women” or are unattractive.But we get pissed off that there is nobody to represent us,I’m about a size 16 and a 18 up top and I don’t see hardly anybody with my body type,and I can’t even imagine what it’s like for the larger BBW girls.They have virtually NOBODY in the media that is glamorous or famous to look at and relate to.

~ by shyla doll on December 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,184 other followers

